It was founded in 1976 at the same time as the establishment of Universitas Sebelas Maret. At the time of its establishment this faculty had two departments, namely: Public Administration and Publicity Departments. Not until the year of 1982 the name of this faculty was changed into the Faculty of Social and Political Sciences based on the Presidential Decree Number 55 Year 1982 on the Organizational Structure of Universitas Sebelas Maret. Then, the names of the departments was changed as well into Public Administration and Communication Science departments on March 14th, 1983 based on the Decree of the Ministry of Education and Culture of the Republic of Indonesia Number 017/0/1983. Later on this faculty succeeded in opening one more department, which was Sociology Department, in 1986 in accordance with the Decree of the General Directorate of the Ministry of Education and Culture Number 27/Dikti/Kep./1986.

Undergraduate Programs

  1. Communication Science
  2. Sociology
  3. State Administration Science
  4. International Relations

Vocational Programs

  1. Administration Management (3 yrs.)
  2. Library Science (3 yrs.)
  3. Applied Communication (3 yrs.)
    Core Interests:advertising, broadcasting, and public relations